gruff

Open full view…

Tutorials and FAQ - Studio Woe

Thu, 21 Jan 2016 05:27:07 GMT

arthurbrentcritchfield
Thu, 31 Mar 2016 13:11:23 GMT

You are not required to give a Fat to an enemy Gruff, with Gobble. That is a great question.

lmixil
Mon, 16 May 2016 09:33:56 GMT

Hi, i have a question related to gruff's maximum attributes: do temporary stats bonuses given by conditions Allow the gruff to go above its maximum mean or fat value while the condition is in game?? Same goes for mutations. And one more question, Skitter's ability gives her +2 mean when she attacks, is this a permanent bonus that triggers on every attack Skitters makes (with a consequent cap at 7: Skitter's maximum mean) or a temporary bonus lasting only for the attack allowing an already maxed skitters to reach 9 mean during an attack?? Thanks in advance for your answer and sorry about my english.

arthurbrentcritchfield
Mon, 16 May 2016 14:56:15 GMT

Hi Mixil, Thanks for your question! Everything listed as +Defense, or +Damage is temporary (Only present as long as the card that gives the effect is present) and may exceed the maximum value of the stat (Because it is not actually giving a point of Mean of Fat). If the specific stat is named, (Like Skitter's +2 Mean,) then the stat is permanent but restricted to the maximum listed on the card. Skitter's Mean cannot exceed 7, but if Skitters attacked and used "Gore" she would be dealing 10 points of Damage. Another way of thinking about this is that Mean gives you Damage, but Damage does not give you Mean.

lmixil
Mon, 16 May 2016 15:18:34 GMT

Thanks a lot for the quick reply. Everything is clear now, i look forward to my next game. I'm loving gruff a lot, i backed clash just in time, good luck with future projects.

snp0
Sun, 14 Aug 2016 18:15:53 GMT

Do "deal damage" cards like Impale have carryover damage? For example, if I use Impale on a 2 Fat Gruff, does the opposing Shepherd lose 1 Life?

arthurbrentcritchfield
Mon, 07 Nov 2016 21:39:40 GMT

Sorry for the late reply, Damage dealing cards like impale or Blaze do carryover excess damage to the opposing shepherd.

snp0
Mon, 07 Nov 2016 21:54:39 GMT

No problem! Your answer's pretty timely, actually -- haven't played in a couple months, but a buddy's coming up to visit and play tomorrow. Plus, sounds like Clash'll be coming soon! Thanks much for the answer, I appreciate it :)

arthurbrentcritchfield
Tue, 08 Nov 2016 15:07:29 GMT

Yeah Clash is coming very very soon. I already have my copies.

craigerdmann
Mon, 21 Nov 2016 19:21:00 GMT

I'm confused about attacking. If player 1 has moved his goat forward to attack, can player 2 move her goat forward to attack player 1's attacking goat?

arthurbrentcritchfield
Mon, 21 Nov 2016 19:37:59 GMT

Yes they can. Attacks in this case have no special rules. Each player's attacks resolve at the beginning of their next turn. If a gruff is killed while it is attacking, it will not complete it's attack (So don't attack into a goat that is about to kill you).

ericmouledoux
Tue, 06 Dec 2016 17:47:02 GMT

Can a gruff's defensive drop lower than its fat if affected by a card?

arthurbrentcritchfield
Tue, 06 Dec 2016 19:34:47 GMT

Yes it can. Cards like Fling Phlegm and Funk Fumes can actually lower a Gruff's defense into negative numbers. A negative score behaves just like a 0, in that no damage will be prevented from carrying over to the defending Shepherd. That Gruff will not be able to prevent any Damage from carrying over to its shepherd until its Defense gets above 0. Great Question.

ericmouledoux
Tue, 06 Dec 2016 21:06:01 GMT

So if it's in the negatives, or 0, that means that an attack of 0 damage would be enough to kill it. Does an attack still need to happen? Because if it's at 0 and not attacked, then that turn it still received damage equal to or greater than its defense.

tantras
Sat, 10 Dec 2016 22:44:12 GMT

Can Shepherds from the original Gruff printing use any of the ultimate cards from the Clash of the Battle Goats printing as they do not have a Break Limit number on their cards?

ericmouledoux
Wed, 21 Dec 2016 16:50:24 GMT

@tantras. Yes they can use any ultimate cards from the Clash decks, but Clash comes with reprints of the original shepherds with the added limitation to the top right. So no they cannot use as many as they want.

arthurbrentcritchfield
Wed, 22 Mar 2017 05:45:07 GMT

@Eric Yes an attack of 0 or greater still needs to occur to kill a gruff with 0 Defense. Great question.

crookeye
Mon, 05 Jun 2017 15:52:41 GMT

Noggin 963's card "Bulk up" states: Global Mutation. Whenever an allied gruff grows, it gets an additional +1 to the chosen state. Do you play this on one gruff or is it just in play? If it's on one gruff I can kill them and at least ignore it for a turn. But if it's just on the table then it works forever. For only 6 crazy this card seems overpowered.if you get it early enough, you'll be fully powered up twice as fast as your opponent. It seems like a game winner but way too cheap of a cost.

matthewrose
Sat, 10 Jun 2017 03:35:54 GMT

Does pestilence allow my opponent to do damage to me whenever they play a mutation??

takadimi
Mon, 10 Jul 2017 03:58:47 GMT

Hey folks. I just played my first 2 games today and I have a few questions which I didn't see in the FAQs above. 1. Is there a resource where there are beginner / suggested deck builds that I can pre-build so that I can bring the game to newer folks without the necessary deck building step? I like the customizability of the game but it does create a barrier for completely new people (like me) when you're building decks without having any clue if it even works. 2. I also have a question about Zumberg's Apocalypse card. If that card triggers killing both shepherds, does the game end in a draw or does the Shepherd with the most life before win? 3. Are you allowed to move (whether through tactical action or card effect) a living Gruff with a dead Gruff? What about two dead Gruffs (through a card effect of course)? 4. I just want to confirm but are you allowed to resurrect a dead Gruff with an activated Gruff that is not adjacent to it? The rule book didn't mention anything about adjacency (unlike move) so I'm interpreting that as yes you can. 5. Finally, you cannot play mut ations or other cards on a dead Gruff and then resurrect it that same turn with an active Gruff to get those effects, correct? Thanks for your clarifications.

arthurbrentcritchfield
Mon, 10 Jul 2017 12:35:39 GMT

@Takadimi Thanks for checking out the game! If you have Clash of the Battle Goats, the rulebook in that game is more thorough than the one in the original game. 1. There are a lot of resources available at http://gruff.wikia.com/wiki/Gruff_Wikia including decklists for beginners. 2. The game would end in a draw 3. A living gruff may swap places with a dead gruff (The living gruff just kicks the corpse out of the way). 4. Yes, a gruff does not need to be adjacent in order to resurrect another gruff on it's team. 5. You cannot play mutations or other cards on a dead gruff, apart from effects that explicitly resurrect dead gruffs. @matthewrose Only mutations played by Pestilence's controller will trigger it's effect @Crookeye "Bulk up" does not attach to a gruff (In the first print edition). Just to clarify, "Bulk Up" does not trigger any time a gruff's stats would increase, it only triggers when a player uses their tactical action to grow.

next
last page