Open full view…

Initiative and switching pokemon

Wed, 01 Sep 2021 15:57:20 GMT

Greetings from Hong Kong and Taiwan! Currently we are having a blast on version 2.0 of the Pokerole adventure. However we do encounter some systemical problem about initiative that we wish to confirm: The rule book said "During this stage we decide the attacking order: who goes first and who goes last. Once the order is established, it will stay that way until the end of the fight." We knew that the initiative depends on your first chosen pokemon that enter battle, however, what about switching for another pokemon after a round ends? Since the "switching pokemon" rule didn't mention about rolling a new initiative for a new pokemon that enter battle, is it such that all initiatives were determined for the first round regardless of how you switch? Or do you roll a new initiative for a new pokemon that you switch out?

Wed, 08 Sep 2021 01:13:59 GMT

As far as I can tell, each round you recalculate initiative as according to both "Step 5: Multiple Actions" and "End of Round" in the "Battling Step by Step" section, the initiative calculated in "Step 1: Initiative" is performed once every round. "Step 5: multiple Actions"clarifies that the turn order for multiple actions uses the initiative determined in Step 1 for that round. However, "End of Round" says to start over (it would have said something like: "start from 'Step 2: Use a Move' if they intended us to skip 'Step 1: Initiative' in the subsequent rounds"). Hopefully this was helpful, have a wonderful day/night.